Shabbat may have gotten a little lost in all these holidays…

Picture this, from Sept. 16  to the present (10/7):

Erev Rosh Hashana
First Day Rosh Hashana
Second Day Rosh Hashana
Work Day
Work Day
Work Day/Erev Shabbat (I went to two dinners that night)
Shabbat
Sunday
Work Day
Work Day/Erev Yom Kippur
Yom Kippur
Work Day/Recovering from Yom Kippur Day
Work Day/Erev Shabbat
Shabbat
Sunday/Erev Sukkot
Sukkot 1
Sukkot 2
Work Day with Huge Work Event (Sangria in the Sukkah!!)
Work Day
Work Day/Erev Shabbat (also went to two dinners)
Shabbat
Today

Gratuitous?  Maybe.  But my point is, writing (ok, at this point, coordinating) a blog about Shabbat when Shabbat is just a drop in the Jewish bucket this time of year, has proven to be a greater challenge than 1) I was anticipating, and 2) than it was last year.  I have no idea why writing around the holidays (at least in my little corner of the blogosphere) went smoother last year, but it did.  My guess is that I only had to deal with myself, and now I’m trying to get other people to contribute at a time of year when no one can figure out what day of the week it is and how many workdays are in the coming week.

So here we are.  I should have a post coming for the Shabbat that just ended last night, but I realized a little too late on Friday afternoon that I’d never found someone for the week before and that I hadn’t covered it myself.  I think I get a pass, though, because I am writing now, which means we’re still up to date, and also, because I, too, was caught up in both the frenetic pace of the Jewish holidays and the sharing of news.

It feels funny to be back in the “writing about me” mode, even though obviously that’s what this blog was for a good long time, but after giving it over to others for most of the year, do you still want to hear about me, my family, my Shabbat? Whew, internal monologues are exhausting.

Because of the confusing timing issues, for the record, we’re talking about the Shabbat of September 28-29 2012, right after Yom Kippur, right before Sukkot.  I blessedly and blissfully didn’t have any plans or work obligations Friday night, and I did a lot of cooking that afternoon.  I made spinach casserole, Adrienne’s “most favorite squash concoction,” chocolate chip cookie bars, barley soup, and baked tofu, all in a couple of quick, messy hours.

Marc, Aliza, and I all ate dinner together, all sitting down at the same time at the table, and it was perfect.  Saturday, we hosted a small, quiet lunch, and we ate this crockpot barley soup I made, which turned out to be a totally delicious experiment.  And then we had the rest of Shabbat.  That’s code for, I have no recollection of what else happened.  We probably went to a playground, probably also the park, Aliza probably took a nap and we probably wanted to but didn’t.  Just a guess, but it probably went something like that.

My overriding impression of the whole weekend is covered by a veneer of “I just told people we’re going to have another baby.”  (Remember, I said “the sharing of news.”)  So that’s the news.  And after this final set of holidays that begins in a few hours, we’re done with that part of the year, and life can get back to normal, whatever that is.

Experimental Crockpot Barley Soup

Here’s sort of what I did.  I’ll never be able to recreate it, but I can try, and so can you.  It was awesome.  If yours turns out delicious, you did it right.

1 cup dry barley
1/2 cup dried lentils
a few tablespoons tomato paste
2 carrots, chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 celery stalks, chopped
8 cups water
2-3 teaspoons pareve chicken powder (if you have no idea what this is, it’s like bouillon, and I suppose you could use stock instead in place of some of the water)

Put everything in the crockpot on low for 8 hours.  That’s it.

She looks like big sister material, right?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

