8:16 PM

I have such a thrill that this week’s blogger, Jennifer, is an actual person who I actually don’t know who found the blog through a friend (thanks Alicia!) and decided to write for a week. Plus, she buttered me up by telling me that she loves the Advice Well, which means that someone I don’t know reads both of my blogs! You, too, stranger, can be such a person. Sign up to blog here. If I do know you, that’s good, too. And thanks, Jenn – this is beautiful!

By the time it will be time to kindle the Sabbath lights and welcome the Sabbath bride, my little ones will long be in bed. The first Shabbat of the summer of 2012 is hard to wrap my brain around. A proper Shabbat dinner in the winter is easy, it fits smoothly into our schedule, but Shabbat dinner in the
summer is a monkey wrench. My older daughter leaves for JCC camp on an 8:35am but and returns to the same spot at 4:15pm and by Friday, she’s an exhausted, sticky, happy mess. Bedtime is set as 7:30pm lights out if she makes it that long. The baby, she’ll be in bed by 6:30pm – if not, she turns into
an unpleasant creature no matter how light it is outside.

This brings us to dinner – Friday is pizza night in our house. It was pizza night growing up for me, but instead of a pie from the corner pizza shop, I make our pizza. Not a roast chicken in sight which may seem sacrilegious, but in my experience, what was important was having everyone around the table for a
meal on Friday night. While summer may make it difficult to light candles with my girls, it makes dinner easy-peasy. We do a CSA with a local, family-owned since 1832 farm and the bounty I get for $15.75 a week is insane. I found myself with mutant “scallions” last week and finally broke down to do something with them tonight – when all else fails and you don’t know what to do, make pesto. But what cheese goes with scallion pesto – I found suggestions of goat or mozzarella and many called for bacon. That was not going to work, so I went with a smoked mozzarella. I decided to grill the pizzas using my grill pan because it was just too darn hot to turn on the oven – and the individual pizzas came out perfectly. The girls’ pizzas were topped with garlic marinara from Trader Joes since the smell of the homemade pesto was too pungent for my older daughter’s liking. I sprinkled pine nuts on top for an added crunch and everyone got strawberries as a side. After dinner, DD had a homemade orange juice and vanilla yogurt popsicle, the baby got a diaper change, and my day feels bookended.

I know there are people out there that will cringe at the wrongness to say motzi over pizza bread but pizza is kind of my personal manna. I’ll take out my grandmother’s milk glass candlesticks and the Kiddush cup from my husband’s Bar Mitzvah and take care of the welcoming the Sabbath after I’ve taken care of putting my children safely in their beds.


Pizza with Scallion and Cilantro Pesto

1 lb. pizza dough (I buy store bought most weeks)
2 cups shredded smoked mozzarella
¼ cups toasted pine nuts
1 bunch scallions
Handful of cilantro (more or less depending on your taste)
1 garlic clove, chopped
1 Tbsp. lemon juice
¼ cup olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Place the scallions, cilantro, and garlic in food processor and chop until thoroughly combined. Add lemon juice and turn the food processor back on. Drizzle in the olive oil until the mixture comes together as a nice paste. Salt and pepper to taste.

Pre-heat a grill pan and place one individual pizza sized dough “circle” on the grates; cook until it begins to bubble and flip with tongs. Remove to a parchment lined sheet pan and repeat until you have 4 grilled breads. Top the grilled breads with pesto, shredded cheese, and pine nuts. Place under the
broiler until the cheese is melted and the pine nuts are nicely browned.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

