3 dinners, 2 potlucks, 1 kugel

I knew it was a good Shabbat when I had 3 different dinners to go to Friday night.  And I actually made it to all of them.

First up, I went to the Grad Network potluck that Emily so graciously hosted.  There have definitely been times where I’ve gauged the success of an event solely based on the number of attendees, but even though the potluck was smaller than the other ones this year, the calm in the room made it really clear that for the folks who were still here at the end of the semester, a small, quiet dinner was just the right thing.  I had some challah and hummus then made my way to the next…

I stopped by Ilana’s where she was hosting the last of the sheva brachot meals for Ariel and Eric.  I didn’t even take off my coat, but I did manage to have a brussels sprout and some pumpkin mousse and borrow a tub of cool whip.  (I knew if any roommate pair would have such a thing available to borrow, it would be Ilana and Sarah.)

From there, it was home, where I actually ate a meal.  My parents were in town for Shabbat, and they put together most of the dinner while I was out making the rounds.  We had leftover rutabaga apple soup that Ruchama and I had made earlier in the week, tuna patties, spinach, and vegetable kugel (more on that in a bit).  Aliza managed to cry her way out of her crib, so she joined us for dinner, too.

So that’s 3 dinners.  And 1 of the potlucks.

Potluck 2 was at Minyan Tikvah on Saturday.  After our first sticker experiment a few months ago, we revised the procedure, and though we still have a few kinks to work out, this was definitely an improvement, and, as is to be expected, no one went away hungry.  My family’s potluck contributions were a lemon-mint chip ice cream (made by Marc, of course), a no-bake chocolate mousse pie from my mom (made possible by the borrowed cool whip), and, here it is again, the rest of the vegetable kugel from Friday night.

When I was a little kid, I got sick a lot.  Like, really, a lot.  And pretty much each time I was home sick, my dad would rent a VHS tape of a movie musical (usually Singin’ in the Rain), and we’d watch that and make a potato kugel.  But somehow, I never really learned how to make the kugel.  Maybe something to do with being 5-9 years old and congested every time I saw it made.  Even with my dad’s recipe in front of me, it’s just never worked out.  So I took the opportunity of having my parents in town and no other food plan to speak of to learn firsthand how to make this childhood favorite.

Even with the addition of other veggies, it somehow tasted just like I remembered.

Potato Kugel with other veggies (doubled, because why would you, and by “you” I mean “I,” ever make any less?)

8 potatoes, peeled
2 carrots
1/2 butternut squash
1 sweet potato
1 onion
6 eggs
2/3 cup flour
1/2 cup oil
salt and pepper

Peel and cube the veggies except the onion, and process in batches in the food processor.   Move to another bowl.  Combine the other ingredients in the food processor and give it a spin.  Mix it all together, pour into a greased large rectangular pan, and bake at 350 for an hour.  Though it will actually need longer than that.

In other news, Aliza seems to be adjusting to her new teeth, just in time to enjoy an early Chanukah present.  Check out this awesome frog!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “3 dinners, 2 potlucks, 1 kugel

  1. Pingback: 52x25x2x1 | 25×52

Leave a Reply

