Hot and cold

I may have used the word “hot” about 20 times in last week’s post, but that doesn’t diminish the fact that it’s still hot out.  And that this weekend, Marc, Aliza, and I have all had colds.  Turns out, a congested baby is one of the saddest things on earth, though the situation is made slightly better by the use of the gruesome yet unbelievably effective Nosefrida (if I know you and you ever have a baby, watch out, ‘cuz you’re getting one of these).  I blew my nose nine times in the amount of time it took me to write this paragraph.  Nonetheless, we had a great Shabbat, and I managed not to start experiencing cold symptoms until it was almost over.

Friday night, I went to Ilana’s new place for dinner, while Marc and Aliza stayed home recuperating.


I was a little afraid I would no longer be a welcome guest without a cute baby, but my friends still talked to me.  Thank goodness.  And, dare I admit, it was really nice to spend a few hours sans baby.

As I said last week, Ilana’s apartment is really fantastic, and the meal was a great match for the decor.  I was especially impressed with her treatment of zucchini, which actually made me want seconds.  She roasted zucchini along with yellow summer squash, then added it to sauteed onions, tomatoes, and a healthy dose of crushed red pepper.  Also, though Ilana often makes great brownies, this batch was something special.

Saturday, we made our own sushi with Beverly and Naomi.  Though I knew, in theory, this is something people do, it was neat to see it happen from start to finish.  I’m sorry we don’t have any pictures, because it was quite pretty, especially the rolls with beets in them.

I made blueberry crisp for dessert, and we finished it between the four of us.  Typically, I follow the original Joy of Cooking crisp recipe, but since I was just kind of winging it this time, I added in a few random things.  But, pretty much, baked fruit + sugar = great dessert.

Blueberry Crisp of the hour (vegan)

Cover the bottom of whatever baking dish you’re using with fruit (if it’s berries, leave them whole, or peel and thinly slice peaches, plums, or apples).  Sprinkle with lemon juice.

In a small bowl, mix together equal-ish parts oats and brown sugar and a healthy sprinkle of cinnamon.  Then mix in oil, almond extract, and brandy until there’s no dry sugar left and it’s kind of crumbly but not wet.

Bake at 350 until all bubbly and good looking.  See the before and after pictures for my definition of “all bubbly and good looking.”  (The brandy bottle is just for effect.)  Alternatively, in this heat, bake until you can’t bear to have the oven on any longer.  It’ll taste good, I promise.

Before

After

Before I go back to blowing my nose, a few words of blog housekeeping:

1.  I’m going back to work on Monday.  Only quarter-time, but still, it means that I’m going to start going to (and writing about) Grad Network dinners again, at least sometimes.

2. If you want to be in the blog but haven’t yet come over for a meal or hosted us for a meal, there’s still time.  (Warren, I’m talking to you!)  Just let me know.  But, taken with item 1, we may have to plan ahead a little bit.

3. Though there are still months to go, I’m announcing now that there will be a late-December end-of-blog Shabbat meal extravaganza.  We’ll probably complain about the cold weather at that point, but hopefully we won’t also have colds.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

